More Cultural Heritage Sites Are Targeted

Posted on December 27th, 2009 at 12:30 pm by Akhyari


as the World cultural Heritage that is.

Three areas in Bali are targeted for designation as “Cultural Heritage Areas” by the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) in 2010.The three areas singled out for the recognition on the island are: the rice terraces of Jatiluwih near Tabanan; the Pakerisan river valley in Gianyar; and the “subak” or traditional water irrigation system at Taman Ayun in Badung.

Pura Taman Ayun


Paddy Terrace in Jatiluwih

The government has recommended to UNESCO eight places in Indonesia to be considered as cultural heritage sites. These sites are located in Bali, Tanah Toraja, Nias, Muara Jambi and Trowulan.

To date, only three areas in Indonesia have qualified as for cultural heritage site status: the Borobudor Buddhist monument in Magelang, the Prambanan Hindu Temple complex in Sleman/Klaten and the prehistoric man site at Saangiran.

Popularity: 2% [?]