The New Chairman of ASEAN

Posted on November 1st, 2010 at 1:06 am by Farah Fitriani


Indonesia received the chairmanship of ASEAN at the closing of the 17th summit that was held in National Convention Centre, Hanoi, Vietnam. there were 10 leaders of ASEAN countries witnessed SBY took over the rotating ASEAN chairmanship, like Philippines President Benigno Aquino, PM of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong, PM of  Malaysia Najib Razak, PM of Thailand Abhisit Vejjajiva, PM of Cambodia Hun Sen, PM of  Myanmar Thein Sein, The Sultan of Brunei Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, PM of Lao PDR Bouasone Bouphavanh, PM of Vietnam Nguyen Tan Dung.

some of ASEAN’s partners also participated in the summit, including PM of Japan Naoto Kan, PM of China Wen Jiabao, PM of South Korea Lee Myung-bak, PM of  Australia Julia Gillard, PM  of India Manmohan Singh, President of Rusia Dmitry Medvedev, and PM of New Zealand John Key.

This is what our president said at the Summit,

President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono when presenting Indonesia’s  vision as ASEAN chair on the occasion said Indonesia considered  ASEAN a very important organization as one of the references for policy making. He said Indonesia would be committed to continuously promoting the organization’s progress.

“There is still a lot of room for ASEAN to work to face various global challenges,” he said.  As the ASEAN chair for 2011 Indonesia would accelerate movements to create significant achievements, he said.

“We will speed up movements to turn  vision into actions and implementation into concrete results,” he said.  In particular Indonesia is committed to realize the creation of the ASEAN Community in 2015. Indonesia would also unite member countries to strengthen ASEAN economic cooperation, he said.

President Yudhoyono emphasized the importance of establishing the concept of ASEAN connectivity in the minds of all citizens of ASEAM member countries. He said Indonesia had packaged its chairmanship’s mission in a big theme of “ASEAN Community within the Community of Global Nations.”

Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung on the occasion congratulated Indonesia for its ASEAN chairmanship saying “I hope Indonesia will be successful in carrying out its function as the ASEAN chair for 2011,” he  said. ASEAN was established in 1967 and now has ten members namely Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei Darussalam, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar.

News Source: Kompas

Photo Source: Kompas

Popularity: 2% [?]

Share this Good News!
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Tumblr
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace